Emmy Predictions: Outstanding Lead Actor In A Comedy

This one seems like a two-horse race, in my opinion, that does leave some room for a possible upset but I think it’s unlikely this year. It seems to be the returning champ vs the Netflix newcomer, both in non-traditional comedy roles with a message to offer.

Anthony Anderson

After his hilarious reaction after hearing he was nominated whilst announcing the nominees earlier this year it’s clear to see why Anderson picked up this nomination. Like I mentioned earlier I’m yet to see Black-ish but it seems to have a positive buzz around it which could push Anderson into the front position. If Black-ish is able to snatch the Outstanding Comedy award then he might be in with a chance.

Aziz Ansari

I think from the moment it was announced Aziz Ansari would be fronting a Netflix original comedy many expected him to land on this list. Ansari manages to be funny even in all types of situations and Masters Of None really demonstrates that. In my opinion, I think he’s in with a good chance for this with Emmy voters previously demonstrating a love for his old show Parks And Recreation and they might make up for the lack of awards they ever sent back to Pawnee.

William H. Macy

This is the third nomination for Macy as Frank Gallagher in the remake of the British comedy Shameless. Unfortunately for him, I don’t think this will be third time a charm! I’ve never watched the show myself, as a fan of the British series I didn’t want it to be ruined by a rubbish American remake, this seems to have been a successful remake but it’s just not for me. Maybe if he continues to be nominated, when the series enters its final season he will get to take home the trophy.

Thomas Middleditch

As I mentioned earlier, Silicon Valley has a real cult following and there has been a real push for some recognition for the HBO show. My issue with Middleditch is that he’s not the funniest character in the episodes of Silicon Valley I have seen and it seems stupid to give an award to someone whose not even the best on their own show. Like I said I am going to get back into Silicon Valley so maybe my opinion will change then but I’d be surprised if he’s collecting this award.

Will Forte

The Last Man On Earth was completely off my radar, often in the UK I think it’s really easy to miss some American shows just because they’re broadcast on some weird distant channel. I watched the pilot on a recent trip to the USA and as much as I wanted to hate this show for its downright weirdness I couldn’t. Will Forte gives an amazingly unique performance that I’m not sure anyone else would be able to. The dark horse of this character in my opinion.

Jeffery Tambor

The clear favourite in this character and rightly so. Tambor delivers a performance that no one else in this category would be able to come anywhere near to. One of my favourite things about his character in Transparent is that she is not likeable in my opinion, and that’s a good thing! Not everyone in life is a good person and likeable all the time. I think the champ will return to take his crown again this year and probably next year as well!

Will Win: Jeffery Tambor

er

Should Win: Jeffery Tambor

977b1c50-0e1d-0133-f4d2-0e18518aac2f.gif

Snubbed: Jim Parsons, Andy Samberg

sheldon

Click here to see my predictions for Outstanding Comedy Series

Click here to see my predictions for Oustanding Drama Series

 

3 thoughts on “Emmy Predictions: Outstanding Lead Actor In A Comedy

Leave a Reply

