Emmy Predictions: Outstanding Comedy Series

The 68th Emmy Awards Ceremony will take place on September 18th so I thought it would be a good idea to give my category broken for the major categories. Find the links at the bottom for the other categories and let me know your thoughts in the comments below. The first category is Outstanding Comedy Series.

Black-ish

The only comedy in the category I’m yet to see so this will be short. I hear this show is funny and really excels as a traditional comedy, the actors seem funny and it is on my last to get caught up on. The second season seems to have impressed Emmy voters more by gaining the coveted best comedy nomination it didn’t receive for its freshman series. However, changes to viewing habits are showing people are leaning more towards shorter 10-13 episode series over the traditional 24 episodes like Black-ish. An underdog in my eyes.

Master Of None

Being a fan of Parks and Recreation and enjoying Aziz Ansari’s stand-up specials I was increasingly excited to see what the Netflix original Masters of None would have to offer. At first, I hated it, I didn’t like the pilot and thought the characters were unlikable and unfunny. Luckily, I gave it a chance and ended up loving the series. It seems to be the favourite going into the awards which would be a huge deal for Netflix and give it some recognition it deserves. However, I like my comedies to make me laugh and Masters Of None did not make me laugh once.

Modern Family

I find Modern Family a hard one to judge. Yes, the more recent series have not been as good as the first few seasons, but a lower season of Modern Family is still much better than most comedy series around. This series was very mixed, when it hit it hit hard and reminded me of what I loved about the early series, but when it bombed, it bombed hard and proved the series didn’t deserve this nomination. Probably the biggest upset to win, the show needs to stick to the original cast, stop putting in unnecessary guest stars and learn how to right for the kids now that they’ve grown up.

Silicon Valley

Silicon Valley seems to be the fan favourite that has the biggest support for it going for the win. I have tried some of the first series but other things took my attention but it is something I will probably go back to. This being it’s third nomination without a win, and the high public outcry for those years, it might be the year for HBO’s comedy gem. Although it has a cult following, maybe this win will help increase viewers and help secure the comedies future.

Transparent

I binged Transparent early this year when I finally got an Amazon Prime account, it was a surprise hit for me with an outstanding cast telling a unique story. However, for me, Transparent falls into the same problem Master Of None falls into, the show doesn’t make me laugh. I feel Transparent would actually fit better as a drama and takes away from some genuine comedies. The show is yet to pick up the Emmy even though it has received mass critical acclaim for its two seasons. I wouldn’t be surprised if it takes home the trophy this year.

Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt

Definitely the weirdest comedy on the list this year but I have to say it was my favourite. My favourite episodes were the ones that feature Tina Fey as an alcoholic therapy helping Kimmy through her PTSD. I think Titus Burgess and Jane Krakowski help to round off an amazing cast, I especially loved Anna Camp‘s guest role this series and think it’s a crime she missed out on a nomination herself. It was a slow starting season but once it found its groove it really knocked it out the park.

Veep

Now becoming the veteran of awards seasons, and rightly so, Veep is definitely the one to beat this year. It continues to put out well written seasons which means you can’t help but be happy when it sweep all the awards. This might be the year it loses out due to some fierce competition but it is definitely the bookies favourite. I haven’t watched all this season but even the first three episodes showed me it was on its top form.

Will Win: Veep

giphy-4.gif

Should Win: Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt

giphy-3.gif

Snubbed: Broad City, Crazy Ex-Girlfriend, The Mindy Project

Broad city.gif

Click here to see my predictions for Outstanding Drama Series

5 thoughts on “Emmy Predictions: Outstanding Comedy Series

Leave a Reply

